Call an Expert Today
Compliance Alert: Since January 1, 2019, California employers with 5 or more employees are required to provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees.
The minimum amount of employees “5” includes seasonal and temporary hires, independent contractors and any employees of state
The training deadline has been extended from January 1, 2020 to January 1, 2021.
Employers will now have until the end of 2020 to train all employees, sexual harassment prevention training is one of many, we recommend that employers train their employees now and do not wait until the end of next year. (If you trained supervisors and nonsupervisory employees in 2019, you will not need to retrain them until 2021.)
2 hours of sexual harassment prevention training to California supervisors (and to out-of-state supervisors of California employees), and 1 hour of training to nonsupervisory employees in California. Training must take place within 6 months of hire or promotion and every 2 years thereafter.
The course needs to be taken as an individual-learner, group settings will not satisfy the state requirements. We do offer onsite sexual harassment prevention training
Note: Supervisors and employees who received training in 2018 will not need to be retrained again until 2020.
COURSE OF ACTION
Our training is used to effectively train employees and satisfy your compliance requirements. Our courses meet California requirements by law and include best practices Due to harassment being a major basis of litigation, we recommend that employers with fewer than 5 employees also train every employee.
Learners can take their individual training
- In English or Spanish (learner selects)
- Access on desktops, tablets and smartphones
- Utilize around your schedule
Easy Purchase, Set Up and Tracking
- Courses available to purchase online
- Upload and assign learners
- One-click status report on course completions
- California-compliant courses with certificate of completion
- Required harassment, discrimination and retaliation policy to distribute in writing to employees included
- Customer support specialists at no extra cost
Pricing Information: Access to each course is granted upon purchase, these training courses are nonrefundable.
1-Hour Employee Course
|Number of Learners||Online
|1-50||$24.99 each||$26.99 *min 20|
2-Hour Supervisor Course
|Number of Learners||Online
|1-50||$42.99 each||$45.99 *min 20|
- Employees and Supervisors must meet the minimum per session at a on-site training. Special pricing is available for quantities over 250. Travel expenses may be incurred if over 50 miles from the corporate office. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Please click here to see your states requirements.
Sexual harassment FAQ’s
What is sexual harassment?
State regulations define sexual harassment as unwanted sexual advances, or visual, verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature. This definition includes many forms of offensive behavior and includes gender-based harassment of a person of the same sex as the harasser. The following is a partial list of prohibited behavior:
- Visual conduct: leering, making sexual gestures, displaying of sexually suggestive objects or pictures, cartoons or posters.
- Verbal conduct: making or using derogatory comments, epithets, slurs and jokes. Verbal abuse of a sexual nature, graphic verbal commentaries about an individual’s body, sexually degrading words used to describe an individual.
- Physical conduct: touching, assault, impeding or blocking movements.
- Offering employment benefits in exchange for sexual favors.
- Making or threatening retaliatory action after receiving a negative response to sexual advances.
Which employers have to provide training?
By January 1, 2021, an employer having five or more employees shall provide at least two hours of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all nonsupervisory employees in California within six months of their assumption of a position. This training must be provided once every two years.
What training do employers have to provide?
Employers must provide sexual harassment prevention training in a classroom setting, through interactive E-learning, or through a live webinar. E-learning training must provide instructions on how to contact a trainer who can answer questions within two business days.
Any training must explain:
- The definition of sexual harassment under the Fair Employment and Housing Act and Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964;
- The statutes and case-law prohibiting and preventing sexual harassment;
- The types of conduct that can be sexual harassment;
- The remedies available for victims of sexual harassment;
- Strategies to prevent sexual harassment;
- Supervisors’ obligation to report harassment;
- Practical examples of harassment;
- The limited confidentiality of the complaint process;
- Resources for victims of sexual harassment, including to whom they should report it;
- How employers must correct harassing behavior;
- What to do if a supervisor is personally accused of harassment;
- The elements of an effective anti-harassment policy and how to use it;
- “Abusive conduct” under Government Code section 12950.1, subdivision (g)(2).
- Discuss harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation, which shall include practical examples inclusive of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.
Finally, any training must include questions that assess learning, skill-building activities to assess understanding and application of content, and hypothetical scenarios about harassment with discussion questions
Which employees do employers have to train?
Employers having five or more employees must train all supervisors in California, as well as nonsupervisory employees in California. A supervisor is anyone with authority to hire, fire, assign, transfer, discipline, or reward other employees. A supervisor is also anyone with the authority to effectively recommend (but not necessarily take) these actions if exercising that authority requires the use of independent judgment.
What should I do if I experience a sexual assault, sexual violence, or other criminal acts?
If you experience sexual harassment that rises to the level of violence or assault, you should immediately contact law enforcement. Please see the California Attorney General’s webpage on Sexual Violence at https://oag.ca.gov/workplace-sexual-harassment for more information about sexual violence and available resources for victims of such violence.
Sexual harassment FAQ’S (2020). Retrieved from https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/resources-2/frequently-asked-questions/employment-faqs/sexual-harassment-faqs/